Alumni Fellows

Alumni Fellows

Each fall, eight of Mississippi State University’s notable alumni are invited to return to campus as distinguished guests and deemed Alumni Fellows. They are honored in recognition of the ultimate measure of a university - the quality of its alumni.

The fellows program allows the university to recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves in their careers. Alumni Fellows hold the distinction for life.

Sponsored by the Mississippi State University Alumni Association, the colleges, and the Office of the Provost, the Alumni Fellows Program recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves in their respective careers. They are selected by each academic college and are invited to return to campus to meet with students, both in the classroom and informally.

Through the years, this program has served as a means for enriching the MSU experience by exposing students to outstanding alumni who share extensive knowledge and real-world experience from their respective field. These outstanding alumni are willing to talk about specific competencies, attitudes, and efforts needed to succeed. It is an exciting and stimulating way to blend the interests of the accomplished professional, the student, and the professor.

2023 A&S Alumni Fellow


White Gan Jee, a distinguished MSU chemistry graduate of 1974, hails from Tutwiler in the Mississippi Delta and resides in Sugar Land, Texas, where he runs JEE Consulting Services LLC. Born in Clarksdale, White’s educational journey began under the strong influence of his grandparents and parents, immigrants from China in the 1940s, who emphasized the significance of higher education. Upholding a tradition of family members attending MSU, Jee has become an integral part of the university community.

While at MSU, he was involved in Army ROTC, completing four years and later serving in active duty, eventually honorably discharged at the rank of captain from the Army Reserves. He was a member of Phi Eta Sigma, a freshman honor society, and The Lucky Eleven, a Chinese-American social organization.

Post-MSU, Jee furthered his education, obtaining an MBA in industrial management from the University of Houston. Throughout his career spanning over 40 years, he’s been associated with industry giants such as Dow Chemical, INEOS Olefins & Polymers, and Sasol Chemicals. Recognized for his contributions, Jee received the American Society for Testing and Materials Award of Merit and held the honorary title of fellow for his service in Committee F17 on Plastic Piping Systems.

Beyond his professional life, White is rooted in community service. He’s a Gold Level Donor to the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center and a legacy participant in the annual Aramco Houston half-marathon.

Recently, White has shown immense support for MSU’s Department of Chemistry, donating resources and actively mentoring professors and students. Stepping into the esteemed role of Alumni Fellow for the College of Arts and Sciences, White expressed he is grateful to the MSU community and remains committed to championing its values. 

Past Fellows

  • 1990 L. Burton Barnes, III, '70, '74
  • 1991 Dr. David H. Irwin, Jr., '72
  • 1992 Lewis E. Nolan, '67
  • 1993 Dr. Ralph W. Alewine, III, '68
  • 1994 Henry E. "Hank" Johnston, '65
  • 1995 Cecilia Reese Bullock, '69, '94
  • 1996 Dr. Susan Brown-Skrobot, '78, '80, '83
  • 1997 Newton F. Hamlin, '64
  • 1998 William "Bill" C. Mattox, '72, '73
  • 1999 Kevin T. Ivey, '84
  • 2000 Mark C. Rohr, '73, '75
  • 2001 Judge William Alsup, '67
  • 2002 Sidney L. Salter, '88
  • 2003 Dr. Larry R. Grillot, '68
  • 2004 Dr. Ronald Greeley, '62
  • 2005 Marion Harris, '91, '93
  • 2006 Mary Catherine Di Nunzio, '90
  • 2007 Kevin Robinson, '01
  • 2008 Adrienne Pakis-Gillon, '80 and William Gillon, '80
  • 2009 Mark Worthey, ‘84
  • 2010 Cindy Stevens, ‘83
  • 2011 Dr. Randy White, ‘66
  • 2012 Dr. David Wigley, ‘79
  • 2013 Dr. Fred Corley, ‘68
  • 2014 Dr. M. Diane Roberts, ’63, ‘64
  • 2015 Laurie R. Williams, '79
  • 2016 Tommie Cardin, '83
  • 2017 Debbie Rabinowitz, '69
  • 2018 Greg Barker, '88
  • 2019, Dr. David Seago, '97
  • 2021, Bruce Thomas